Waterville appoints councilors to marijuana study panel

November 8th, 2018 by admin Leave a reply »

WATERVILLE — The City Council on Wednesday voted to appoint two councilors to the Marijuana Study Committee and authorized the fire chief to issue mutual aid agreements with neighboring fire departments for fire and rescue services.

About 50 people, including a class of social studies students from Waterville Senior High School, turned out for the meeting, held in the Chace Community Forum on the first floor of Bill and Joan Alfond Main Street Commons at 150 Main St.

Waterville fire Chief Shawn Esler has said that the department has struggled to get adequate numbers of firefighters to fight local fires in a timely manner, a matter that the City Council addressed Wednesday. Pictured is firefighter Mike McKay, center, getting his breath after climbing out of a third-story window to the waiting ladder truck as fellow firefighters help him while battling a fire on June 15, 2017, at 11 High Street in Waterville.

The council voted unanimously to appoint Councilors Sydney Mayhew, R-Ward 4, and Winifred Tate, D-Ward 6, to the marijuana panel, established in September to study current state law on all aspects of marijuana cultivation, distribution, sale, medical uses and other uses to determine if and how the city will add more conditions to the terms of marijuana-related activity.

Jennifer Bergeron is the committee’s chairwoman. Other members are Councilor Nathaniel White, D-Ward 2; Robert Vear; Luc Duplessie; Tom Ferris; and Anthony George, with Dan Bradstreet, the city’s code enforcement officer, and City Manager Michael Roy serving as ex-officio, or

Article source: https://www.centralmaine.com/2018/11/07/waterville-appoints-councilors-to-marijuana-study-panel/