Regulations covering medical marijuana vary in 15 states

March 15th, 2011 by admin Leave a reply »

Fifteen states plus the District of Columbia have legalized medicinal marijuana: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington.

But the laws allowing it in three of those locations –– Arizona, New Jersey and the District of Columbia –– have yet to be formally implemented, according to Paul Armentano, deputy director of the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws (NORML).

Maryland has a law that requires a judge to consider a defendant’s use of medical marijuana to be a mitigating factor in state prosecutions involving violations of the marijuana laws. If a patient who’s arrested successfully argues at trial that his or her use of marijuana is based on medical necessity, the maximum penalty allowed by law is a $100 fine.

Most of the states that do allow medicinal marijuana do not have statutes that specifically provide for dispensaries.

And there are moves afoot in some states to repeal laws that are allowing people to use medical marijuana based on alleged abuses.

The Montana House of Representatives voted Feb. 10 to repeal the state’s 2004 voter-enacted marijuana law. Republican House Speaker Mike Milburn says that many of the people who’ve been approved for medical marijuana aren’t terminally ill and that the law has created a growing trade in illegal drugs. Marijuana grow-factories are prevalent in Montana. In Michigan, dispensaries have sprouted up in many places throughout the state even though there is nothing in that

Article source: